Office of Research and Development (R&D)

The academic research of Kaohsiung Medical University (KMU) initially started with studies of tropical medicine, Chinese herbal medicine and venin-antivenin. For more than fifty years, KMU has played a major role in providing various medical and public health services in southern Taiwan. To promote academic research, and to elevate the quality of research and development, the office, originally entitled “Office of University Affair and Research Evaluation”, was reformed and renamed as “Office of Research and Development (R&D)” in 2000. The first Vice President of the reformed R&D was Professor Yie-Wen Chien, who was a KMU alumnus returned from USA. Following Professor Chien (1st and 2nd), Professor Shyi-Jang Shin (3rd) of the Department of Internal Medicine, Professor Yang-Chang Wu (4th) of the Graduate Institute of Natural Products, Professor Rei-Cheng Yang (5th) of the Department of Pediatrics, and again Professor Shyi-Jang Shin (6th) of the Department of Internal Medicine, Professor Lea-Yea Chuang (7th and 8th) of the Department of Biochemistry, Professor Tian-Lu Cheng (9th) of the Department of Biomedical Science and Environmental Biology succeeded as the R&D Vice Presidents. Currently, R&D is supervised by Professor Shyng-Shiou Yuan (10th) of the Graduate Institute of Medicine. 

The organization of R&D has been made several adjustments. Currently, R&D has three divisions, two service centers and one specialized office, continuously working hard on elevating research energy of KMU.


  • Division of Administrative Planning
  • Division of Academic Research
  • Division of Research Resources
  • Center for Laboratory Animals
  • Center for Medical Informatics and Statistics
  • Office of Research Ethics